Tuesday, November 27, 2007

Typical French...





I thought I would have my first blog be a political cartoon, simply because I love political cartoons. Anyway, a cartoon for the news of the day and the typical French people! I know everyone bashes on the French, but there are some good reasons sometimes....They finally elect a president that tries to push reforms (Sarkozy) for labor and what do they do? Shutdown the entire public transportation system in strike! And what else have the French been doing in the poor suberbs of Paris and other cities...rioting...a library burned, nursery school burned, 120 police injured, 10,000 cars burned, 300 buildings fire bombed, 2 teens dying during the riots. All of this just recently too! Many of the riots are students in protest of education reforms.
The union strikes with transportation have crippled the state for weeks now! No wonder the French have around 8% unemployment, many with 30 days paid vacation, unlimited sick days, full child health care. What a work ethic for a country, eh?!?! And they are so appalled by the thought of working a little bit more, what do they do?....strike and riot! The sad thing is, according to French history, the Unions will most likely win! I will say that not all the French are like this and actually much of the state is backing Sarkozy, but we will see if the Unions prevail in the end...